RSS

The Sisters Grimm Book 1: The Fairy-Tale Detectives

18 Jan

Once upon a time, there were two sisters.  Recently abandoned by their parents,  Sabrina and Daphne Grimm were shuffled from one foster household to another for a year and a half.  Having enough of their sneaking and causing trouble, their case manager finally hands them off for the last time.  The sisters alight Ferryport Landing  to meet their grandmother, Mrs. Relda Grimm, who was supposedly deceased long time ago.  Sabrina and Daphne find themselves in a town where fairy tales seem to come alive.  After being attacked by pixies during a failed escape, bumping into an equally snooty town mayor  named “Charming,” and encountering  witches and pigs in the law enforcement agency, the hours become bewilderingly strange for the sisters.  Their destinies unfold when Relda and her creepy assistant, Mr. Canis, got abducted by a 200-foot giant.  The sisters gather  their wits together to rescue their grandmother,  to solve the mystery of the terrorizing giant, and finally, to carry on the family tradition of being GRIMMS.

I stumbled upon this when one cold night I was hankering for a fairy tale book before I go to sleep.  Searching through an audio book site, I took a chance on this as the plot summary seemed interesting.  I had come across a lot of books using fairy tales in their pure form, adapted form, modernized form, twisted forms, and some politically-correct forms before. I was curious on how Michael Buckley is going to pull off this one.  What supposedly turned out to be a tale to put me to sleep morphed into something that kept me awake the whole night until the bright morning.  This book is worse than caffeine! Once started, it has to be finished. And once it’s done, you want to have some more.  Reading this reminded me of my Harry Potter experience.  I started late reading it, maybe book 3 was already out when I started HP & The Sorcerer’s stone.  I found HP’s world exciting and amazing because of the fantastic story, funny and endearing characters, and the strange new world of magic.  With The Sisters Grimm series, I just discovered that there is a book 8 coming  out May 2010, which only means I have a lot of catching up to do. Though it’s way too different from HP’s world, stepping into this one feels the same.  Some of the characters may seem familiar (as I might have heard of them one bed-time story ago), the treatment gives a “biographical” or “historical” view (well, that’s according to the Grimms).  Apparently, these are the TRUE stories of those tales.  What I like most about this is Buckley’s very good narration of what’s going on inside the head spaces of his characters. You can certainly relate to them in the childish sense.  And don’t get me started with funny awkward moments, quips, and seemingly crazy description of things that would certainly force a crack of a smirk even in the stoniest of faces.  I’m looking forward to the next 7 books. This series look very promising.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 18, 2010 in Ferryport Landing, Michael Buckley

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
